Residency classification for tuition purposes is governed by state law (Title 23, Article 7, C.R.S. 1973). The College is required to apply the rules set forth in the law and does not have the authority to make exceptions unless specifically permitted by law.
You are initially classified as a resident (in-state) or non-resident (out-of-state) based on the information provided on your admissions application. Once the status is determined, it will not change without appropriate proof that you are a different status. In addition, you must submit the appropriate residency form to the Office of Registration & Records before the tuition classification will be reviewed again.
If you are classified as a non-resident and believe you qualify for in-state tuition, please request a correction by completing the Correction For Initial Tuition Classification Form. The deadline for the Correction For Initial Tuition Classification Form is the Census Date (see dates listed below) for the semester you are seeking in-state tuition. No Exceptions.
Correction For Initial Tuition Classification Form Deadlines (Census Date)
- Summer 2020 - Friday, June 5, 2020
- Fall 2020 - Thursday, September 3, 2020
- Spring 2021 - Friday, February 5, 2021
Continuing Students & Individuals Emancipated Prior to 22 Years of Age
If you are under 23 and emancipated (which is financially independent for at least one year prior to the first day of class), then you have up to 30 days (see dates listed below) from the first day of class to complete the Petition for In-State Tuition. There are no exceptions.
Petition for In-State Tuition Deadlines (Due within First 30 Days of Class)
- Summer 2020 - Wednesday, June 24, 2020
- Fall 2020 - Tuesday, September 15, 2020
- Spring 2021 - Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Eligibility for In-State Tuition
State law requires you to live in Colorado for one year or more continuously prior to the first day of class to be eligible for in-state tuition.
The law refers to this term as "Domicile." This legal term refers to the place where you have shown intent to make a permanent home and legal residence. Having domicile involves more than just having a physical presence or “residence” in the state. Physical presence and the intent to remain in Colorado permanently is required for domicile. Retaining ties with your former state of residence and failure to comply with laws expected of all permanent residents of Colorado provides evidence against Colorado domicile.
You must surrender all legal ties with your former state of residence to show the intent to make Colorado your permanent place of habitation and legal residence.
The following can be used to document your intent:
- Colorado driver license or valid Colorado ID
- Colorado motor vehicle registration
- Permanent, full-time, off-campus employment
- Colorado voter registration
- Payment of Colorado state income taxes as a Colorado resident
- Ownership of residential property in Colorado
Only qualified individuals may establish domicile. A qualified individual must be a U.S citizen or an eligible non-U.S citizen in one of the following categories at the beginning of the one-year domicile period:
- 22 years of age or older: If you are 22 years of age, you are eligible to establish domicile in Colorado. The one-year domicile period begins only after completing 22 years of age. Therefore, you may qualify for in-state tuition after reaching 23 years of age.
- Married: One-year domicile period begins after the date of marriage.
- Emancipated minor: If you are under 22 years of age, you are eligible to establish domicile only if you are not supported by your parent(s) and are able to meet all ordinary and necessary expenses independently. The one-year domicile begins only after the date of emancipation.
- Emancipation requires your parents or legal guardians to no longer support you and make no provision for support. Receipt of gifts, trust funds, loans, and assets established by parents or someone other than yourself on your behalf provides evidence against emancipation. In addition, parents must no longer claim you on their income taxes. You must document that you are able to meet all financial obligations, including tuition and fees, without any financial assistance from any other individual.
Residency classification will be determined based off the information submitted. The burden of proof is on you. Please visit the Office of Registration & Records in the Confluence Building, room 114 on the Auraria Campus if you have any questions about the process or email your questions to CCD.Residency@ccd.edu.
Non-U.S. Citizen Eligibility Requirements
Immigrant aliens are eligible to establish domicile under the same provisions as U.S. citizens.
If you are a student with permanent resident status, an asylee or refugee, or fall under Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), you may be considered as an immigrant alien for the purpose of tuition classification. Most other immigration statuses can also potentially qualify you for in-state tuition; however, the provisions of the visa may prevent attendance at an institution of higher education.
Non-immigrant aliens are legally incapable of establishing domicile and cannot gain in-state tuition. You are considered a non-immigrant alien as an F-1, F-2, H-3, M-1, or M-2 visa holder. Additionally, J-1, J-2, and H-4 (if issued based on the relationship to H-3 visa holder) visas are incapable of establishing domicile if the visa holder is in Colorado primarily to learn.
Colorado ASSET Bill
Senate Bill 13-033, also known as the Colorado ASSET bill, allows U.S citizens, permanent residents, and students without lawful status to receive in-state tuition through attendance and graduation from a Colorado high school or through attendance at a Colorado high school combined with obtaining the GED. You may gain residency by meeting these requirements instead of following the traditional domicile path. Qualifying through ASSET is the only way for undocumented students to receive in-state tuition classification.
ASSET stands for Advancing Students for a Stronger Economy Tomorrow.
To qualify for Colorado ASSET in-state tuition, you must:
- Have attended a public or private high school in Colorado for at least three years immediately before graduating or earning a General Equivalency Diploma (GED) in Colorado. Three years is defined as six academic terms from three separate years immediately preceding graduation or completing the Colorado GED.
- Be admitted to a Colorado college or university within 12 months of graduation from a Colorado high school or completion of a Colorado GED OR graduated from a Colorado high school or completed a Colorado GED before September 1, 2013, and have a continuous physical presence in Colorado for 18 months preceding the start of the semester.
- Complete an affidavit with the College Opportunity Fund (COF), indicating that you have applied for a legal presence or will apply as soon as you are eligible to do so.
If you are classified as a non-resident and believe you qualify for ASSET in-state tuition, please request a correction by completing the Correction For Initial Tuition Classification Form. The deadline for the Correction For Initial Tuition Classification Form is the Census Date for the semester you are seeking ASSET in-state tuition. No Exceptions.
As with the traditional domicile path, residency classification will be determined based on the information submitted by you (the burden of proof is on the individual seeking in-state tuition).
Honorably Discharged Veterans
If you are an honorably discharged veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard) and otherwise would not qualify for in-state tuition as one-year residents of Colorado, you can apply for in-state tuition. Complete and submit the US Armed Forces Veteran Residency Requirement Waiver, including a certified copy of your Form DD214. This form must be submitted within 30 days of the first day of class. The Veteran's residency waiver is only active for one full year. After the year passes, you will need to fill out the Petition for In-state Tuition with supporting documents.
Active-Duty Members of the U.S. Armed Forces
As an active-duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces (and with legal dependents stationed in Colorado on a permanent-change-of-station basis or on a temporary assignment to duty in Colorado), you are able to qualify for in-state tuition. Members of the military force of Canada (with your legal dependents claiming an exemption to in-state residency requirements) are also able to qualify for in-state tuition. Complete and submit the Active Duty Military Residency Requirement Waiver within 30 days of the start of classes. Be sure to include a copy of the Certificate of Eligibility (COE).
Western Undergraduate Exchange Program (WUE)
The Western Undergraduate Exchange Program (WUE) is for non-residents of Colorado who maintain residency with another qualified state to receive reduced tuition rates. Time spent in Colorado under the WUE program will not count towards the 12-month domicile requirement for Colorado in-state tuition. A WUE application must be completed in full and returned to the Office of Registration & Records by the earliest drop (census) date for your courses.
Please consider the following when applying for the Western Undergraduate Exchange Program:
- States that qualify for WUE Program: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming.
- Students 22-years old and younger: You will need to submit at least two intent items from your parent who resides in one of the qualifying states on the WUE application.
- Students 23-years old and older: You will need to submit at least two intent items (legal ties) from one of the qualifying states on the WUE application. These two intent items such as State Driver's License, State Taxes, Voter Registration, Vehicle Registration or Paystub need to be dated back one year prior to the first day of class.
- The time spent in the WUE Program will not count towards the 12-month domicile requirement for in-state tuition.
- Once the WUE application is processed, you will remain as a nonresident for three consecutive semesters but will be charged 150 percent of the CCD in-state tuition while enrolled in the WUE program. While enrolled in the WUE program, you do not qualify for the College Opportunity Fund (COF) stipend (only in-state students (Colorado residents) qualify for the COF stipend).
- You may submit the WUE application with supporting documents every three semesters to stay enrolled in the WUE program.
- The WUE tuition rate will not apply to CCCOnline or CCD online classes. WUE tuition only applies to CCD’s on-campus classes.