Academic Standards Committee

Academic Standards is a committee consisting of faculty, administration, and other representatives from academic centers and venues at CCD. The Academic Standards Committee sets and maintains academic standards for grading, course additions and other related issues here at CCD.


General Purpose of the Committee

The committee meets on the the third Thursday of the month from August through April to review and make recommendations to the chief academic officer on matters of (1) curriculum, (2) instructional accountability, and (3) curriculum and accountability related policies and procedures. Areas for review and recommendation include but are not limited to the following: 

  • new courses to be offered at CCD
  • new certificates and degree program proposals
  • changes to current certificate and degree programs
  • course and program removals

View the Academic Standards Handbook.

Academic Center Representatives

The committee shall be composed of 18 members: one academic dean, two instructional faculty members from each instructional center, two adjunct faculty representatives, two advisors, the graduation specialist, one student representative, and one administrative support staff member. Voting members on this committee are limited to faculty only, and may include the committee chair person(s).

Academic Center Representatives
Arts & Humanities Bobbie Ware
Jeffrey Becker (Co-Chair)
Career & Technical Education Jake Webb
Health Sciences Michelle Kohler (Co-Chair)
Lorraine Yost
Math & Science Brittni Lorton
Terry Williams
Performing Arts, Behavioral & Social Sciences Leigh Sinclair
Casey Casler

Academic Standards Forms

All proposals to be reviewed by the Academic Standards Committee are to be submitted through the Academic Standards D2L page. Faculty should contact the Academic Standards representative for their Academic Center for assistance with this. Items for the agenda are due a minimum of one week before the committee meets. 

Related Resources


Faculty members can contact an Academic Standards Representative from their Academic Center for more information on Academic Standards, the Committee, and its processes.  Committee Co-Chairs: Michelle Kohler & Jeffrey Becker | Academic Standards Administrative Support: Nicholas Grissom