CCD Main Campus
P.O. Box 173363 Campus Box 201
Denver, CO 80217-3363
1111 W Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80204-2026
Residency classification for tuition purposes is governed by state law (Title 23, Article 7, C.R.S. 1973). The college is required to apply the rules set forth in the law and does not have authority to make exceptions unless specifically permitted by law.
Students are initially classified as resident (in-state) or non-resident (out-of-state) based on the information provided on their Admissions Application. Once the status is determined it remains unchanged in the absence of satisfactory evidence to the contrary. In addition, students must submit the appropriate residency form.
New Students who are classified as non-resident and believe they qualify for in-state tuition have until census date (last day to add/drop class) to request a correction by completing the Amended Application Form. The deadline for the Amended Application is the census date for the semester a student is seeking in-state tuition: NO EXCEPTIONS.
Summer 2013- June 7, 2013
Fall 201- September 5, 2013
Spring 2014- February 7, 2014
Continuing students who attended and paid non-resident tuition or individuals emancipated prior to 22 years of age shall have up to 30 days from the first day of class to complete the Petition for In-State Tuition.
The deadline for the Petition for In-State Tuition is 30 days after the start of the semester: NO EXCEPTIONS
30 Day Deadline Dates: (Continuing students - Petition for In-State Tuition)
The law requires an individual to be domiciled in the state for one year or more continuously prior to the first day of class to be eligible for in-state tuition. “Domicile” is a legal term that refers to the place where an individual has shown intent to make a permanent home and legal residence. Having domicile involves more than just having physical presence or “residence” in the state. Physical presence coupled with intent to remain in Colorado permanently is required for domicile. Retaining ties with your former state of residence and failure to comply with laws expected of all permanent residents of CO provides evidence against CO domicile.
An individual must surrender all legal ties with their former state of residence to show the intent to make CO their permanent place of habitation and legal residence. The following can be used to document intent. However, no one factor alone is sufficient.
Only qualified individuals may establish domicile. A qualified individual must be a U.S Citizen or eligible Non-U.S Citizen in one of the following categories at the beginning of the one year domicile period:
Students without lawful immigration status, who wish to obtain in-state tuition under the Colorado ASSET bill, must meet the following requirements:
Residency classifications will be determined based off the information and documents submitted. The burden of proof is on the individual seeking in-state tuition.
Admissions, Records & Registration